So This is Love

You’d think that with less than a week to go there wouldn’t be a lot of exciting things to share. Living at the Schloss since April has drawn me close with a few of permanent and seasonal staff: Bec & Kelsie. Both have been huge role models in different ways and areas of my life in a practical sense of learning life skills and in my personal walk with the Lord.

With Kelsie, I was able to listen to her story with Gioele and how they came to be. Two of the biggest things I took away was that God was able and Proverbs 3:5-6.

  1. God is Able: Thinking upon the idea of Jesus’ teachings on not to worry in Matthew 6, if God is able to provide and take care of the needs of the birds of the air and the fish of the sea, why wouldn’t God be able to take care of our needs no matter how big or small our needs are?
  2. “Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not on your own understanding, but in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6
    If you truly want to follow the Lord and acknowledge Him with everything we face or things we come across, then He will make everything align and your don’t have to worry.

With Bec, I’ve had the privilege to witness how she  finished her race of singleness with stride. While in time of singleness, Bec’s desire to one day be married was clear, but the desire to submit to her King was even greater. Because of her patience on waiting on the Lord and time growing her character and learning to submit to Him for 10 years, although difficult at times, Bec’s story brings so much glory to the Lord and praises out of the mouths of witnesses and friends who have been in prayer on her behalf. To say that things escalated quickly in her story makes it seem crazy to those who were not directly involved in the first week, but I like to think of it as clear confirmations from the Lord from both sides in a shorter period of time than we are used to think of as the norm. But God’s timing is not necessarily the same as our idea of “the perfect timing.”

Within a day apart of being proposed to, both Bec and Kelsie are now engaged! Each of their stories are different, as is everyone’s testimony of salvation and walk with God, but both bring glory to God. Like the Shulamite speaking words of wisdom to the daughters of Israel in Song of Solomon,  I feel like one of the daughters of Israel basking in each word spoken and taking each sentence to heart in prayer.

The very first thing spoken to me by Bec after she told me she was engaged the next morning was that it is worth the wait. God’s best He wants to give you, but you have to be patient and wait on Him.

Side Note: You know the quote that says too much of a good thing can become a bad thing? Same is true of time. Even God’s best for you can’t be the best if it’s in the wrong time. Not saying that there isn’t grace for that (because there is), but to experience the full joy and blessings the Lord wants to give you- it could be missed out on with wrong timing.

Even if you are waiting on Him till you’re 18, 22, 30, whatever- work on your character and your submission to the Lord. Because how are you going to obey the command of wives being submissive to your own husbands (Ephesians 5), if you haven’t learned to submit to the Lord when you have to surrender your husband to Him because your husband is imperfect and human?

Another thing mentioned quite often without meaning to be like, “Hey, do this” was to pray specifically. As I’ve been transitioning into adulthood over these last few years, more of what I find myself holding on to and practicing are the lessons and things that I’ve been taught when I was a child. Not actually being intentional in applying these lessons, among them was to pray for my future husband. And I did every once in a while, but not enough as I wish and desire to now. Seeing the Lord’s faithfulness to Bec in answering everything she has desired and prayed for in her husband (literally everything and so much more!), encourages and reminds me to pray specifically for my future husband- if he exists.

I say, “my future husband- if he exists” because I want to surrender to the Lord my desire for a husband in that if it is His will that I remain single for life (or for several more seasons)- I’ll be content in that. In Philippians 4:12-13, Paul shares that the secret of contentment is relying on the Lord’s strength. And in relying on His strength, it gives me confidence in that my complete satisfaction cannot be fulfilled by any man/husband or anything else on this earth, but that my thirst for being truly and perfectly loved can only be quenched and found in Him.

It’s crazy to think that this molding of my new perspective and outlook towards marriage started with the marriage of Caitie and Grant Barton in April 2014 (which I was so blessed to have witnessed the wedding ceremony even though I didn’t have a direct friendship with the bride and groom). Anyone who knows Grant & Caitie’s love story has to be out of their right mind to say that the fingerprints of God wasn’t there! Then a year following came Dean & Suzanne Malispina! The day after they were engaged, Dean taught at Calvary Chapel Modesto’s College group on Matthew 6:33, “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.” Dean shared with us how much this verse has strengthen him in waiting for his bride for so many years. And now Bec & Kelsie!

Every love story is different. When we wait on the Lord’s timing,  He will make it obvious to us from the beginning that it is from Him- bringing all the glory to Himself! If you are currently waiting on His timing as I am, be encouraged and lean on Him for strength because in the end it will all be worth it. I am excited to see how God will write my story, if it is His will to do so, and I will continue to pray specifically for my future husband and learn to take advantage of this time of waiting to build my character and learning to submit to the Lord.

Leave a Reply

