Week Four

Sunday, May 10, 2015

In the morning we attended Alex’s church where he taught on the first chapter of Acts and how the church started before Pentecost. The worship was fabulous, teaching was filling, and the fellowship was sweet. Amelia, Dany, Gioele, Kelsie, and David joined us for the service and our afternoon outing with the Lindsay Family.

Walking into town, we got some yummy gelato and sat in front of a statue of a dragon while talking about life. I got to talk to Grace about things she liked and disliked. I especially admired her answer to my question of where she wanted to go to school to become a doctor, she said, “Well, I don’t even know if the Lord wants me to even become a doctor.” I wish I had that kind of response when I was her age. So trusting in the plans that He has for her life. Having faith like a child.

Coming home I slept for the majority of the ride and had the opportunity to relaxing in the Hobbit Hole making sure I was all ready for the coming week. Later on in the evening we were invited to Sean and Kati’s apartment in Seeboden. Their view from their porch was beautiful and relaxing. We watched a lot of videos from Olan Rogers who is a Christian and a story teller in the YouTube community. Why have I never heard of this guy?! Super duper funny!


Monday, May 11, 2015

Personally I don’t think I have much of a green thumb, but it seems to be that when some of my tasks involves the outdoors, I quite enjoy it. I guess know what your project was before you started and what the results are in the end makes it all worth it. I pruned some of the flowers that were growing in some of the beds and watered them and the grassy area in front of the Hobbit Hole. 11216094_10203747068388452_1692432051_n Later on in the afternoon, Team Interns, Scott and Rachelle walked down to the dock to pray for the SOS students. The time is flying by so fast and in a couple of weeks they will start arriving! We are super stoked and excited for what the Lord has in stored for the team this year. In the evening we attended our 5th lesson in The Truth Project, which was really the 6th lesson because of the upcoming conference this weekend. The lesson was about History and why the past is important because it dictates our decisions we make for our future. What concerned me was the fact that in the educational system, textbooks are being rewritten every year, slowly changing the stories of what really happened. But then I was brought to the realization that the little things doesn’t matter and the Bible does.


Tuesday, May 12, 2015

So there is controversy within the housekeeping department called “The Dove Controversy.” When a guest walks into the room and they look at their bed and see the towels, how are they going to see the towels? Which direction should it be facing (You’d think after doing this for so long that they would have this process down to a science)? What about if it’s a double bed? The photos above are reminders for me to keep the same uniformity for each of the beds depending on the area of the bed and the shape of the room. Oh the joy of housekeeping! Surprisingly making beds and setting out the towels are my favorite part of the whole housekeeping process. Funny because it definitely didn’t start out that way…


Wednesday, May 13, 2015 Bec was awesome sport for giving into “peer pressure” of taking Dany, Amelia, David, and I to Ljubljana, Slovakia on our day off. Ljubljana is Bec’s favorite place to visit and from the pictures you can probably see why. They have a market 6 out of 7 days a week where you can buy fresh fruits, vegetables, cheese, bread, and so much more. The architecture is absolutely stunning and is too much to capture in just one photo. Make sure to click/hover over the photos to see the captions.


Thursday, May 14, 2015 Unfortunately I wasn’t able to capture anything because of the Spittal Conference that was starting in the evening. I was cleaning the entry ways and wiping down the coffee shop’s patio furniture from all the yellow crusty pollen that has been flying around. The Conference’s theme has been a continuation of Robyn’s topical study of the Holy Spirit. There is a lot of knowledge being poured into the 30 people that have attended and we pray that they will be blessed by it. There are a lot of young people who have attended and its good to see more people around my age group.


Friday, May 15, 2015 In the morning, Scott had the opportunity to preach a sermon on prayer based upon the passage Luke 18:1-8. The message was very enlightening for me personally because I have been struggling with the idea and action of prayer. When I was a child, prayer came so naturally- it was like talking to my dad. But now as I’ve grown older, time feels like it’s rushing by and there doesn’t seem to be a difference whether I prayed or not. I like how Scott describes this scenario: A heavy duty passenger plane is flying at high altitude and when the engines are turned off we are hovering for a little while but then slowly, and then all of the sudden quickly, we start loosing altitude. Our prayer lives are like the engines keep the plane in high altitude and running. When we stop praying, at first we don’t notice, but when things start getting tough we realize the need for prayer and it may or may not be too late before we crash. At the beginning of the sermon, Scott said that we are not strangers to our God because we are His children and we don’t have to be afraid of what words to say but be ourselves and genuine. This was very encouraging to me because a lot of times the devil would use that lie to keep me from praying to Him in my own time as well as publicly.

In the evening Robyn continued his series of the Holy Spirit covering different stories in the Bible where “the Holy Spirit came upon them.”

Afterwards, Gioele and Kelsie were very nice to make Amelia and I some lattes. Mine had toffee nut while Amelia’s was Irish cream. Because Millstatt is a touristic town, they shot some fireworks last night for the entertainment of their guests. It was a lot cooler with the reflection of the lake.

I decided to FaceTime Erika, my sister, who caught me up in what has been going on in her life. It was sweeting talking with her and seeing a familiar face from back home. Thank you Lord for the technology to communicate from across the world!


Saturday, May 16, 2015

11253789_10203767398896702_465090488_n

Second to last day of the conference, I found this super old device that I thought my dad would have a few laughs from it. Super old.

The day was full of housekeeping and sermons. Didn’t capture a lot because of business and all. But I was able to Skype my parents and Sierra. I love my parents. =)


Prayer Requests:

  • Unity with the other Interns
    • Applying the teachings we have started- to prepare us for the summer
  • Rest
  • The Lord would continue to reveal Himself to me more and more
Leave a Reply

