Week Two

What a busy week! It is amazing how much you realize you have experience and been through when documenting everything! The Lord was definitely teaching the castle staff and I to have faith in Him to control the weather for construction on the roof and for the event on Saturday. God is faith!


Sunday, April 26, 2015

With my first full week completed, another one begins. I attended my first service at Calvary Chapel in Spittal. Robyn Tuner introduced their new series focused on the Holy Spirit. The summary of the sermon is that the Holy Spirit is a He and has a will who intercedes for us, guides us and lives inside of us.

In the afternoon, I sat out on one of the benches on campus and spent some personal time with the Lord. Part way through, Josh, from Calvary Chapel Costa Mesa, sat and hung out before going out on the lake to go sailing. It was nice to talk to someone about what was going on with the changes at the castle and processing my adjustment to this temporary lifestyle.


Monday, April 27, 2015

For work, I helped organize their “cold storage,” which operates as their freezer and refrigerator. Later during break, Danny taught me how to make my first cup of cappuccino. I now have potential to be a hipster! Hopefully throughout my stay I will be able to learn how to make other kinds of coffee drinks.

Since arriving here, I have been reading On Being A Servant of God by Warren W. Wiersbe. Each chapter has been rich with words that have been preparing me for this coming summer. When I have completed the book I would like to do a full review on the book. But so far, I highly recommend this book!

In the evening, Amelia and I have started our intern prep training in The Truth Project by Focus on the Family at the Vander Dussen’s house along with a couple from the church. The wife said that she was praying for ten years that God would bring the DVD’s to her because she wanted to watch them again, but she could never find them. I have been through half of this project before a long while back, but there has been so many new changes to my perspective that I am making that it feels like this is the first time I’ve ever watched it. Because of the short time frame we have left before the summer begins, we have doubled the watching time to be twice a week, so Mondays and Thursdays have been dedicated to watching each of the lessons, discussing it, and praying for each other.


Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Gardening has never been something I was constantly brought up with while growing up. What I mean is dealing with flowers and plants and not including mowing the lawn. I had the opportunity for a couple of days to take out the withered dandelions and tulips so that they may grow stronger in their next season of bloom. One of the more menial tasks was to take out all the yellow-flowered weeds as to not spread the seeds before the wedding. There were a lot of them throughout the lawn and made the task seem forever longing. But with the help of some of the staff children, Anna and I made it into a game that they could play of who could get the most. It was funny to see the littlest one, Vivian, get the most because the boys kept disputing with each other on who was the fastest.


Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Funny story. Anna and I teamed up with Robyn’s wife, Alyson, to plant some more flower beds to bring up to the first floor (our second floor) of the villa (the place where most of our guests stay in). I took three long flower beds on a wheel barrel down the hill and brought it to the front of the villa, set it down, started taking one out and all three of them tipped over and spread across the patio because of the unbalancing act. Highly embarrassing but from there we took every precaution to not spill the contents of the other flower beds when walking through the villa.

Joey Vander Dussen turned three years old! Massimo made a surprise cake for him and presented it to the another year old boy with the biggest smile I have ever seen on his face. Because Joey likes to eat whatever Massimo sets before him, Massimo holds Joey in a special place in his heart. Joey enjoyed every part of the cake, making sure to eat as many oreos he could before his mother stopped him.

Later on during sunset, Christian, Amelia, and I walked out to the dock on the lake and did a photo shoot of ourselves jumping, being super-duper hipster, and crazy. Obviously most of the crazy part was just me, but you probably already assumed that. This was so much fun and I can’t wait have much more adventures like this in the future.


Thursday, April 30,2015

Anna and I were a team today! We cleaned the floor (American Second Floor) around the chapel in preparation for the wedding’s plan B to be inside in cased it rained. We took this task to new heights making sure the castle was the best we could have possibly have made it for the guests, wedding party, and the photographs. We are super crazed about the weather being determined to be raining, but we are praying that the Lord would allow the day to sunny and bright for the wedding ceremony.

In the evening, I attended the second lesson of The Truth Project at the Vander Dussen’s. It focused on ethics and morals. This was a very hard lesson to learn because of the large terminology used and the different worldly ideas that I wasn’t fully familiar with. The best thing that I got out of it was when the presenter talked about transforming/renewing your mind (Romans 12:2) and he quoted someone saying, “The way of life changes when the way of the mind changes.” The presenter explained that the translation of the word transform means metamorphoo, which is the revealing of the butterfly. But the hardest part is the larva struggling to get out the cocoon to become a beautiful butterfly. To me this was the Lord speaking to me as “It’s going to be tough and it’s going to feel like it’s not making a difference, but I want you to read My Word more and learn about me and my character.”


Friday, May 1, 2015

Thank the Lord for days off! Amelia and I decided to take the same day off to go into Seeboden in the afternoon for their May Day festivities. May Day is Europe’s version of our Labor Day with a slight twist.

On May first, everyone takes the day off from work and gathers at the center of town where the fire department (made up of volunteers) has shaven down a really tall tree. Near the top of the tree, they place a wreath with ribbons hanging down making it to where anyone who wants to can climb up to it and pull down one of the ribbons. No prize but pretty cool bragging rights.

Scott Vander Dussen told us that the old tradition was that participating towns was eligible for tree to be stolen by another participating town, so at night they post guards as to not have their tree stolen. How in the world would anyone be able to get away with stealing a huge tree without damaging any property or hurting anyone?! Probably a really old tradition before there were a lot of buildings around in the area.


Saturday, May 2, 2015

So ended up filming a wedding for the first time with DSLR cameras. Thanks to Amelia and her Canon 60D, I was able to have two angles- one wide and one close. I edited the whole wedding ceremony and then added a condensed version of the wedding for people to enjoy in just five minutes.

It was a beautiful wedding with sunny skies and a nice overcast. All week the weather forecast kept saying that the day of the wedding was going to be raining, but the Lord heard our prayers and allowed the day to be sunny. Praise the Lord!


Prayer Requests:

  • Wisdom in editing the entire wedding ceremony and that everything will be smooth
  • Lord would change my perspective/heart on not taking people’s jokes personally. The style of sarcasm that a few people emit is hard for me to grasp.
  • Safe travels for David, the third intern from New York, who should be arriving sometime this week.
3 thoughts on “Week Two

    1. Thank you Lynne! God has been doing awesome things here at the Castle and He gets all the praise and glory!

Leave a Reply

