Clinging to the Waistband of Christ

“‘For as the waistband clings to the waist of a man, so I made the whole household of Israel and the whole household of Judah cling to Me,’ declares the LORD,’that they might be for Me a people, for renown, for praise and for glory, but they did not listen.'” (Jeremiah 13:11)

Last night, my Bible study group and I read this verse and was really breaking it down on what it meant to cling the waistband of Christ. “Cling” was defined as to be hard to part or remove from. It was noted that the hip was holding the waistband and that there was no effort by part of the waistband to be held up, but it was all of the work of the beholder.This break down led us to answering one of our discussion questions in reading the following passage:

“Even so then, at this present time there is a remnant according to the election of grace. And if by grace, then it is no longer of works; otherwise grace is no longer grace. But if it is of works, it is no longer grace; otherwise work is no longer work.” (Romans 11:5-7)

These verses lead me to sharing my personal experience on being confronted by sin. I explained that when we have a sin in our lives, a lot of the time we just tell ourselves not to do it again and try to avoid it but we end up going back into sin despite trying our very best not to. Another person added mentioning that there is no power that way, but when that situation arises again all we need to do is cling to the Lord where there is power; thus no longer having the spirit of fear but of peace. I like what another person said, “We are always clinging to something, but its choosing what to cling to that’s the issue.”


Another topic that our group briefly touched on was being justified in Christ. Throughout my Christian walk I have heard the word justify, just, justification, etc. and have been told definitions of it and have even looked them up myself. My church even sings a song about it explaining the definition (I’ve been justified, just as if I never did anything wrong). But this whole time it just wasn’t clicking with me.And for some reason while one of my friends was sharing her prayer requests, it just clicked for me what it meant!

To be justified in Christ was be made right! I don’t know how to explain it any more than that but for some reason I finally got it! That we were made right through Christ and because of that we get to reap all the undeserved benefits and grace! Our God is too great that it explodes my mind every time!


Now this morning I read Matthew 8:18-27 where Jesus explains the cost of following Him and then the disciples having little faith during the storm while on a boat. Here’s what I was mind blown by:

  • Following Christ doesn’t result to settling- we are to always be growing and doing things for Him not making this world our home and being comfortable.
  • How can we tell God, “I will follow you” and then not have faith in Him?
  • We need to give Him ALL of our trust.
  • His Word is a testimony to His faithfulness.

Sorry, but there was just so many things that the Lord has been teaching me that I wanted to write down for my own reflection as well as share with others about how great our God is!

Hope this blessed you!

Leave a Reply

